Sample Ballots By Precinct
New Voting Laws
The 2021 Iowa General Assembly passed significant changes in election law, including a reduction in the time during which to vote by mail and in person. These changes are summarized here.
PLEASE REVIEW THESE LAW CHANGES CLOSELY. They may require changes from how you have voted in the past.
2021 Election Law Changes for Iowa Voters, published by the Iowa State Association of County Auditors
NEW IOWA ELECTION LAW Q & A
Q: When do the polls close for the General Election?
A: The polls close at 8:00 pm for ALL elections.
Q: How many days before an election do I need to register to vote if I’m not registered or if I moved, and I want my name to be on the voter register at the polls?
A: 15 days. This is Monday, October 18 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: May I still register to vote at the polls?
A: Yes. You will need both proof of identity (which everyone needs) AND proof of residence.
Q: Will the county auditor send absentee ballot request forms to all voters in the county?
A. No. State law now prohibits this. If you personally request an absentee ballot request form, your auditor will send you one.
Q: Will the Secretary of State’s Office send absentee ballot request forms to all voters in the state?
A. No, unless directed to do so by the state legislature during a public health disaster.
Q: Will ANYONE do large mailings of absentee ballot request forms to voters?
A. Probably, at least for General Elections. Political parties and other private organizations are not prohibited from sending them out.
Q: When is the first day that I may request an absentee ballot by mail?
A: 70 days before the election. This is Tuesday, August 24 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: After I send in my absentee ballot request form, when will the county auditor mail me my ballot?
A: The auditor will start mailing absentee ballots 20 days before the election. This is Wednesday, October 13 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: When is the first day I can vote absentee in person at the Auditor’s Office?
A: 20 days before the election. You should only vote at the office if you have not requested a ballot by mail. This is Wednesday, October 13 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: When is the last day that I can request an absentee ballot by mail?
A: The county auditor must receive your request form at least 15 days before the election. (For exceptions, see below.) This is Monday, October 18 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: What is the deadline for getting my absentee ballot back to the county auditor?
A: The county auditor must have your ballot by the close of the polls, which is 8:00 pm on election day.
Q: Won’t my ballot be counted as long as it is postmarked before election day?
A: NO. The law changed, and your ballot must be in the possession of the county auditor by 8:00 pm on election day.
Q: When is the last day to vote an absentee ballot in person at the auditor’s office?
A: The day before the election. (This didn’t change.) This is Monday, November 1 for the November 2, 2021 City/School Election.
Q: May I return someone else’s absentee ballot, or may someone else return my absentee ballot?
A: The only people who may return a voter’s absentee ballot (we’re talking about the BALLOT, NOT the ballot REQUEST FORM) are the voter, someone living in the voter’s household, an immediate family member, or, if the voter is blind or has another disability, a special delivery agent. (For exceptions and details, see below.)
Q: May I return my absentee ballot to the drop box outside of the courthouse?
A: No, all returned absentee ballots must be either returned by mail or hand delivered to the Auditor’s Office inside the courthouse. Adams County will not have an Official Ballot Drop Box. This is a change from last year.
For exceptions, details, and more law changes, click here for the 2021 Election Law Changes for Iowa Voters, published by the Iowa State Association of County Auditors.
For the Secretary of State’s new absentee voting instructions, including the Designation of Delivery Agent Form, click here.
Learn more about your voting locations by viewing the Adams County Voting Precinct Maps
Register to Vote
To vote in Iowa, you must be registered to vote. To qualify to register to vote, you must be:
- A U.S. citizen,
- An Iowa resident, and
- At least 17 years old. A person may vote if they will be 18 years old on or before election day. In the case of primary elections, a person may vote if they will be 18 years old on or before the corresponding regular election.
You may also register to vote by downloading and completing a voter registration application and returning to the Adams County Auditor’s office.
Updating your Voter Registration
You must update your voter registration if you:
- Change your name
- Change your address
- Change party affiliation
To update your registration, submit a new voter registration online or send a paper form to the Adams County Auditor’s office. You can learn more about updating your registration at the Secretary of State website.
Voter ID Requirements
Iowa voters are required to show an Iowa driver’s license or non-operator ID, U.S. passport, U.S. military ID or veteran’s ID, tribal ID/document or Iowa voter ID card at the polls before they vote.
Learn more at the the official Voter ID information page at the Iowa Secretary of State website
Voter Registrations As of 9/01/2021:
Active, Inactive, Pending