Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Commission History

In the fall of 1989, Lois Sickler and the Adams County Historical Society applied for Certified Local Government (CLG) status from the National Park Service.  On 08 December 1989 the certification was granted as the Adams County Historic Preservation Commission. 

Preservation through Partnership is the goal of the Certified Local Government program.  Local, State and Federal governments work together to help communities in all 50 states save the irreplaceable historic character of places. The program is administrated on the federal level through the National Park Service, on the state level through the State Historical Society of Iowa and on the local level through the county board of supervisors or through city councils.  Through the certification process, communities make a local commitment to historic preservation and demonstrate a commitment to saving what is important from the past for future generations.  As a certified county it becomes easy to demonstrate a readiness to take on successful preservation projects, helping the Adams community to be prepared to compete for new opportunities.

Commission Mission

The mission of the Adams County Historic Preservation Commission is to exercise wise stewardship of the unique historic legacy of Adams County. The commission will

  • Identify, research, survey, evaluate and preserve significant structures and archeological sites.
  • Nominate those that are deemed worthy of inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places.
  • Provide educational opportunities to enhance the awareness, understanding, and appreciation of the county’s historical legacy.


Saundra Clem Leininger, Chair 515.868.1415
Nancy Carmichael, Vice Chair 712.621.3265 
Jon Brokaw, Secretary 630.453.7734 
Dick Blazek, Commissioner 319.321.0973
Shannon Booth, Commissioner 641.322.3145  
Joan Haley, Commissioner 641.322.4927   
Jim Reynolds, Commissioner 641.202.1631
Linda Sargent, Commissioner 361.563.6734
Raelynne Risser, Commissioner 641.322.5229
Marti Gebbie, Commissioner 641.322.3243


The Commission meets on the 2nd Tuesday each month, 10:00 am in the Lauvstad Center Conference Room.  


ACEDC, Main Street Corning,

State Historical Society of Iowa, www.iowaculture,gov/history

Headstone Cleaning